Licensing General Information
Top Navigation 1
  Text Mode     Graphic Mode  
GraysBanner
Left Content
Left Content
Grays Harbor County Auditor > English > Licensing General Information
  Text Mode     Graphic Mode  

Licensing Information

Additional Links:

Department of Licensing

New State Residents

State Patrol Inspections

Disability Placards
 

Titling Your Vehicle or Vessel

All vehicles and vessels that will be used within the State of Washington must be licensed.

If you purchased your car, truck, boat, camper, or other vehicle or vessel from a dealer, the dealer may have already taken care of the licensing for you.

If you purchased your vehicle from a private party, or if the dealer did not do the licensing for you, you will need to license the vehicle yourself.

Vehicles must be registered within fifteen (15) days after purchase to avoid penalty fees. A $25 penalty is charged on the 16th day with additional charges each day until a maximum $100 penalty is reached.

Required Documentation

When you go to either the main office or to any of the agencies, you will need to bring some items with you. The items required depend on the type of transaction you are doing.

New Vehicles

Purchased in-state:   Normally the dealer will process all paperwork and obtain your plates and registration for you.

Purchased out-of state - You will need the following documents:

  •  Picture identification
  •  Manufacturers' Statement of Origin (MSO)
  •  Notarized signatures - every name on the title needs to be witnessed by either a notary or someone at the licensing agency.
  • Documentation of purchase price - bill of sale or invoice from the out-of-state dealer
  • Federal Odometer statement
  • Name and address of lien holder

Used Vehicles

You will need the following documents:

Used Vehicles with a Washington State Title -

  • Picture identification
  • Washington State title or an "affidavit in lieu of title"
  • Notarized signatures - every name on the title needs to be witnessed by either a notary or someone at the licensing agency.
  • Documentation of purchase price - bill of sale or invoice
  • Federal Odometer Statement on vehicles less than 10 years old
  • Name and address of lien holder

Used Vehicles with out-of-state plates and documentation

  • Picture identification
  • Title with proper signatures
  • Notarized signatures - every name on the title needs to be witnessed by either a notary or someone at the licensing agency.
  • Documentation of purchase price - bill of sale or invoice
  • Federal Odometer Statement on vehicles less than 10 years old
  • Weight slip for all trucks unless the scale weight is shown on the title
  • Name and mailing address of lien holder

Vessel Provisions

When to renew

All boat registrations expire on June 30th. When your boat registration is due for renewal, we will send you a renewal notice. It is important that you keep your address updated on our records so the notice can be mailed to you.

You don’t need to have your renewal notice to renew your boat registration. You can renew your boat registration up to 6 months prior to June 30th.

Requirements

When you renew, you will be required to do the following:

  • If renewing in person, present the renewal notice or provide the registration or registration number (WN#).
  • If renewing in person, present identification to show you are the registered owner of the boat.

How to renew

  • Renew online
  • Renew in person - at County Auditor office or local subagents.
  • Renew by mail - Follow the instructions on your vehicle renewal notice.
Right Top Content
Right Navigation
Right Middle Content
Right Image
Right Bottom Content