
~ i n c o l n  C o u n t y  
World's second-largest wheat producing county 

Office of the Auditor 
Shelly Johnston, Auditor 

P.O. Box 28 0 Davenport, WA 99122 (509) 725-4971 

August 8,2012 

To: Recording Customers 9- / 

Re: Fee Changes w-- v 
ect~ve September 1,2012 

During the 2012 Legislative Session, Washington State legislature passed ESHB 2048 impacting the fees 
required to record certain documents. The fee changes go into effect September 1,2012. The fee 
change applies to only those documents that are related to real property. 

The Legislature changed one of the surcharges collected to support housing and shelter programs for 
homeless persons. The current surcharge of $30 applies to all documents except assignments or 
substitutions of previously recorded deeds of trust or documents recording a birth, marriage, divorce, 
death or any document otherwise exempted from a recording fee under state law. The new surcharge 
on September 1 will be $40 and applies only with the continued 
exceptions as previously detailed. 

The end result is that the total recording fee for General Recorded Documents will be either: 
$32 for the first page if the document is not real property related or 
$72 dollars for the first page if the document is real property related. 
Deeds of Trust will be $73 for the first page. 

Our recording staff will assess the appropriate fee based on either: 
the document title OR 
the appearance of a legal description and/or parcel number on the first page of the document to 
be recorded. 

The list of document titles to which the surcharge is to be applied is published by the Washington State 
Department of Commerce; the guideline and list are available on our website, www.co.lincoln.wa.us. 

State law requires that we collect full fees and distribute them to the appropriate agencies. As a result, 
if a document is submitted without full payment, we are required to send it back and request that i t be 
submitted with the correct fee. In these cases we will notify you of the fee we expect to be submitted. 

We understand that any delay in recording documents has significant impacts to businesses and our 
shared customers, so we strongly encourage you to contact us with any questions or to verify the 
recording fee prior to submitting your documents. Our recording staff can be reached a t  (509) 725-4971 
Monday through Friday 9:OOam to 4:OOpm. 



LINCOLN COUNTY AUDITOR'S FEE SCHEDULE 
RECORDING INCREASE 

EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1,201 2 

REAL ESTATE DOCUMENT RECORDING FEE, 1st paqe $72.00 
Each additional page 1 .OO 

NON REAL ESTATE DOCUMENT RECORDING FEE, I S t  page $32.00 
Each additional p a ~ e  1 .OO 

Appointment of Successor Trustee $1 4.00 
Assignment of Deed of Trust 14.00 
Resiqnation & Appointment of Successor Trustee 1 4.00 
Substitution of Trustee 1 4.00 
Appointment of Trustee 1 4.00 

Deed of Trust Documents $73.00 
Each additional paqe 1 .OO 

Boundary Line Adiustment $1 18.00 

Recordinn non-standard documents , in addition 
To regular fee $50.00 

Multiple Transaction Real Estate Documents: 
1 st Transaction (except above listed exceptions) $72.00 
Each additional page 1 .OO 
Each additional Transaction Title 72.00 

SURVEYS, SHORT PLATS $1 38.00 
Each additional pase 5.00 

UCC DOCUMENTS (National Form Accepted) 
1 st page $72.00 
Each additional page 1 .OO 
Multiple Transaction Filings (for each transaction 72.00 
Termination Filings 72.00 



REPORT OF MILITARY SEPARATION DOCUMENT FEES: 
DD214 NO FEE 
Request for Exemption from Public Disclosure $7.00 

MARRIAGE LICENSE $35.00 

DEATH CERTIFICATESIBIRTH CERTIFICATES $32.00 

Certified copies, legal size or less, 1 s t  page $3.00 
Each additional paQe 1 .OO 

Uncertified copies of recorded documents, each paqe $1 .OO 
Copies of unrecorded documents, each pane $ .15 
Copies of each paqe presented by individual $ .15 
Copies of survey or plat maps, each page $5.00 
Conformed copies, each paae $1 .OO 
Special Reports per page $ .18 


