WALLA WALLA COUNTY AUDITOR

KAREN MARTIN, AUDITOR
315 WEST MAIN
P.O. BOX 1856
WALLA WALLA, WA 99362-0356

August 16, 2012
To: Recording Customers

From: Karen Martin,
Walla Walla County Auditor

Re: Fee Changes Effective September 1, 2012

During the 2012 Legislative Session, Washington State legislature passed ESHB 2048 impacting the fees required to
record certain documents. The fees changes go into effect September 1, 2012. The fee change applies to only those
documents that are related to real property.

The Legislature changed one of the surcharges collected to support housing and shelter programs for homeless persons.
The current surcharge of $30 applies to all documents except assignments or substitutions of previously recorded deeds
of trust or documents recording a birth, marriage, divorce, death or any document otherwise exempted from a

recording fee under state law. The new surcharge on September 1 will be $40 and applies only to documents related to

real property with the continued exceptions as previously detailed.

The end result is that the total recording fee for most recorded documents will be either
e 532 for the first page if the document is not real property related or

e 572 for the first page if the document is real property related
e Deeds of Trust will be $73 for the first page.

Our recording staff will assess the appropriate fee based on either
o the document title OR

e the appearance of a legal description and/or parcel number on the first page of the document to be
recorded.

The list of document titles to which the surcharge is to be applied is published by the Washington State Department of
Commerce; the guideline and list are available on our website, www.co.walla-walla.wa.us

State law requires that we collect full fees and distribute them to the appropriate agencies. As a result, if a document is
submitted without full payment, we are required to send it back and request that it be submitted with the correct fee.
In these cases we will notify you of the fee we expect to be submitted.

We understand that any delay in recording documents has significant impacts to businesses and our shared customers,
so we strongly encourage you to contact us with any questions or to verify the recording fee prior to submitting your
documents. Our recording staff can be reached at (509) 524-2549 Monday through Friday 9:00 am to 4:00 pm (except
holidays).
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