MARRIAGE LICENSE INFORMATION
Marriage Licenses 509-524-2549
MARRIAGE LICENSE FEE
Effective July 23, 2017, the fee for a marriage license is $57.00, cash only.
The fee for a marriage license is $56.00, cash only. Checks are not accepted.
FEES ARE NON REFUNDABLE
Both parties may apply for their marriage license at the Walla Walla County Auditor’s office during normal business hours (9 a.m. to 4 p.m.) Monday thru Friday.
The office is located in the courthouse at 315 W Main, Walla Walla, Washington.
If one of the parties cannot appear in person, the other party may take the uncompleted forms to the absent party to be filled out and then signed in front of a notary public. When the application is returned, the party taking the forms completes their portion in our office.
A form of picture identification is required (drivers license, state ID, etc). We will also need both parties’ social security numbers. Birth certificates, divorce decrees or other documentation are not required.
There are no blood tests required.
We will need to know; name, place of birth, date of birth, state parents were born and parents birth name.
By State law, any minister or priest of any church or religious denomination and any Washington State Judge or Justice of the Peace may perform a marriage ceremony.
If you would like to have a Justice of the Peace perform the ceremony, you will need to contact them for an appointment.
Justice of the Peace
| Kris Hedine (509) 524-2761
John Knowlton (509) 529-5464
The license is not valid until three (3) days after the date issued. The license is then good for the next 60 days and can be used anywhere in the State of Washington.
THE WAITING PERIOD CANNOT BE WAIVED FOR ANY REASON.
Applicants must be 18 years of age or older:
- Applicants 17 years of age may obtain a license with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. The party giving the consent must come in with the applicants and sign the marriage application.
- Applicants 16 years of age or younger require parent or guardian consent, must be residents of Walla Walla County, meet with M. Scott Wolfram, the Superior Court Commissioner, and have a signed consent from the Superior Court Judge. Once the consent is signed by the Judge, we can finish the application and start the three day waiting period.
Spouse/Partner: Applicants cannot have a current living spouse or registered domestic partner, unless the partner is the other party to this marriage.